Open Close

Raytheon announces scholarship recipients

10 January 2014

Raytheon Company (NYSE: RTN) said it has announced the recipients of the 2013 Raytheon-Engineering is Elementary (EiE) Teacher Scholarship Program.

The 32 elementary school teachers from across the nation received awards of USD2,500 each to support the implementation of EiE, an innovative engineering curriculum, in their classrooms.

Developed at the Museum of Science, Boston, EiE helps elementary school educators and their students enhance their understanding of engineering and technology concepts and support science learning through professional development workshops and curriculum resources. To date, an estimated 58,700 teachers and 4.2m students have experienced EiE.

The 2013 Raytheon-Engineering is Elementary Teacher Scholarship recipients are:

Kamala Anderson, Cannon Elementary School, Grapevine, Texas
Dena Azzolin, Vista del Monte Elementary School, Palm Springs, Calif.
Andrea Bennett, Pickett Academy, Toledo, Ohio
Barbara Broby, Salida del Sol Elementary, Yuma, Ariz.
Melissa Calderon, Liberty Elementary School, Tucson, Ariz.
Peggy Carlisle, Pecan Park Elementary, Jackson, Miss.
Elizabeth Carter, Alice Maxwell Elementary School, Sparks, Nev.
Leslie Childs, Fisher Elementary School, San Antonio, Texas
Dana Crewe, Oak Street School, Lakewood, N.J.
William Diaz-Brown, Frances E. Willard Elementary School, Long Beach, Calif.
Belinda Duncan, Mabel Hoggard Math and Science Magnet Elementary School, Las Vegas, Nev.
Jenny Eckman, Harambee Elementary, Maplewood, Minn.
Mary-Elizabeth Ezenwaka, Roxhill Elementary, Seattle, Wash.
Paulette Fox, Ella G. Clarke Elementary School, Lakewood, N.J.
Kirt Gordon, Salida de Sol Elementary, Yuma, Ariz.
Shannon Gustin, Albert E. Kagel Elementary School, Milwaukee, Wis.
Parrish Higa, Broadous Elementary School, Pacoima, Calif.
Christy Huff, Joe Toler – Oak Hill Elementary, Oxford, N.C.
Linda Kurtz, Dunleith Elementary School, Marietta, Ga.
Amy Lazarowicz, Neinas Elementary School, Detroit, Mich.
Wai Chin Ng, Josiah Quincy Elementary School, Boston, Mass.
Debra Palmer, Cesar Chavez Elementary School, San Pedro, Calif.
Angela Palo, Horace Mann School for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing, Allston, Mass.
Amon Rwito, Kate Sullivan Elementary School, Tallahassee, Fla.
Teresa Salinas, A. J. Martin Elementary School, Houston, Texas
Jessica Schenck, Chief Kamiakin Elementary School, Sunnyside, Wash.
Cindi Shields, Riley Elementary School, Salt Lake City, Utah
Victoria Smith, Maxwell Elementary School, Sparks, Nev.
Melissa Tobar, Colbert Elementary School, Hollywood, Fla.
Anya Williams, Garyville Magnet School, Mount Airy, La.
Laura Yang, Pine Spring Elementary School, Falls Church, Va.
Politimi Zondiros, Ruby Thomas Elementary School, Las Vegas, Nev.
Raytheon previously awarded 60 individual scholarships to teachers at disadvantaged, rural, or inner city schools nationwide over the past two years as part of its USD2m Engineering is Elementary grant to the Museum of Science, Boston.

Raytheon is a technology and innovation leader specializing in defense, security and civil markets throughout the world. Raytheon is headquartered in Waltham, Mass. The company´s website is at and on Twitter @Raytheon.


If you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles delivered to your feed reader.